Laptop with wings please

It’s been such a long time since the laptop got a game changing feature. Except for form factor and design (and to some extent the trackpad!), nothing seems to be changing in the laptop world.  >90% of laptops are manufactured in Taiwan and quite a large extent of the design and innovation (or the lack of it) also happens there.

I decided to ask for more.  How about if we had a laptop that could do the following?

1. Print – I’d love for my laptop to print out my flight/train tickets (yeah, I hate having to buy and maintain printers just for tickets. I’ve stopped printing much else now a days)

2. Scan – I’d love for my laptop to scan things I come across quickly and store, categorize them for later references (scanning is on the up move but all the same, I don’t want to buy a separate device to do this)

3. Project – I’d love to be able to project my presentations without having to connect it to any external device, just click and shoot!

And while we are at it, can it please also have wings? Talk about advanced mobility solutions! Acer, Lenovo, Dell, HP, Toshiba – are you listening?

Readers, what are your demands from your laptop?

2 Responses to “Laptop with wings please”


  1. 1 Anoop October 31, 2010 at 10:24 pm

    Well it takes time to add all these features in a laptop for sure.. Having a scanner, printer etc etc inside a laptop is not very easy without external additions or shrinking the size of each module seperately. I believe technology is slowly headed in that direction.

  2. 2 Satish Krishnaraj November 8, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    One feature I would like in laptops:
    Better use and management of the battery.

    Just to give a different perspective:
    I recently bought a laptop from Dell and the batteries went bad within 18 months. I called the technical support and here is what they had to say:
    1) They do not guarantee a the batteries for more than 1 year
    2) The battery needs to be completely drained out ~2 times every week and then it needs to be completely charged up.

    Point #2 mentioned above is really a difficult task to achieve. I seriously doubt if any one can keep track of those (when to charge / discharge, levels, etc.,) But again, batteries are expensive. So, irrespective of the usage pattern of the user, let the system do what is best for the battery and for its life. It is good for earth, definitely for customers and even for the companies – unless their motivation is to sell batteries.

    -Satish


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 28,012 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,281 other followers

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


