Healthy, snacky recess food for children?

I was passing through a school corridor during recess. As I was navigating my way through noisy children running about all over the place, I noticed how children opened up packets of junk food and gobbled it up (and continued running). Also reminded me of a conversation I had with a friend of mine, Vaishali, who told me that packing snacks for her kids that is healthy and yet, tasty was a daily challenge of her creativity. The other day, I read in the newspaper an interesting news article of how schools were requesting parents not to send “messy” foods like chutney and sauce for lunch/recess snacks. All in all, I can see the dilemma of the parents and their concern over the health of their children. Of course, children need something interesting to eat during recess, that is a given.

All these independent dots, bring me to an interesting idea – if there was a company that came out with packaged food that was healthy and yet snacky so that either parents picked it up at retail stores or children had access to it during school recess hours, it opens up a very interesting and socially responsible business opportunity for them. What say?

6 Responses to “Healthy, snacky recess food for children?”


  1. 1 aryan's mom June 14, 2010 at 9:50 am

    Ahh very true…I have started feeling the pinch already, when I packed snacks for Aryan today. We were told just dry items, no messy items..All I could find is some cakes. Hope he finds it filling, where he is being so used to eating idli and dosa with chutney!!!

  2. 3 Anoop June 15, 2010 at 12:05 am

    Well its a nice concept :-).

  3. 4 nodancenolife June 16, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    It is indeed a very nice concept, but I do believe the people who care about these issues are the ones who would be prepared to research some good ideas for themselves. I hope to explore this idea in my blog over the next few weeks – check in if you have time.
    Also what kind of schools are asking parents not to send messy foods???? I would say nutrition over a bit of mess anyday.

  4. 5 Nikki July 8, 2011 at 5:14 am

    A company in the US already did it with quite a bit of success too…. http://www.babycarrots.com/

    • 6 sree July 8, 2011 at 7:32 pm

      I checked out the website and it is the same concept that I was talking about. The branding is done well and by equating it to junk food, having video games up and running they are appealing right to the right audience. It is wonderful! Just a small catch though, children get bored very fast and need a different snack every day. What will the parent do then? Go back to junk food? Any thoughts?


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 28,021 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,281 other followers


