The “closet” writers’ choice…

It is funny how sometimes mainstream media people perceive new media. The other day, I was talking to one of the owners of a magazine and I mentioned about my interest to write. I added that I had written in newspapers previously and now I maintain a blog that I update regularly. The other owner walks in and the person who I was talking to introduces me saying…”apparently she is a closet writer”…although I understand the word “closet” and the sarcasm in the sentence, I don’t really care! Here are the reasons:

1. I get bored of formats – I remember writing cover articles for The Metro Plus 5 years ago, I enjoyed it while it lasted. I wrote about 7 or 8 and then I stopped.  I stopped because I got bored of that format of writing – I did a lot of interviews with people around a topic of my choice, created a theme, a body of 400-500 words around the topic and submitted it for review. They selected a nice picture for the theme did some editing and published it. I had to wait for weeks sometimes for it to see the light of the day, there is absolutely no wait time with my blog – I publish when I want! I would love to write something fresh and new in a different style and have the freedom to experiment with it as I go along.

2. The power of pull – I get people on my blog who read the specific kind of content that they are looking for, instead of  a generic newspaper/magazine where a “masala” of stuff gets published so that they cater to the  varied tastes of their “invisible” customer.

3. The power of being ones own editor – Every time you write in mainstream media, no matter how hard you try there is invariably some element of pressure that creeps in (at least for me) that prevents me from being myself. On one end, it helps me be more formal and succinct in my writing and on the other, the pressure does alter the style at some level. I like being my own boss and having the freedom to express views in the style that suits me!

Don’t get me wrong, I love to write for mainstream media, it has a unparalleled push and grants “instant” recognition to the writer, but I would never want to lose my “closet” space for anything. Having discovered this space, it is more of  must have than a “weak alternative” for me! What do other bloggers think, are we really the “closet” writers?

0 Responses to “The “closet” writers’ choice…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 28,013 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,281 other followers


