Innovative Ad Formats, Irritating too!

Now when I’m watching TV I don’t know whether I’m actually watching a movie, its promo or an advertisement of a product (not even remotely related to the movie!). Not that I care, but in my mind there was a sense of separation between content and advertisement and slowly but surely, it seems to be fading, a step at a time.

While it is interesting to see innovative ad formats, for example Asian Paints doing an ad jig with Karthik calling Karthik actors and using the movies song too, it is equally irritating when I no longer know what I’m being fed. This is where most of the movie content is headed for sure, in-built advertisements. Product placements were not a new phenomena in the movie world but by pulling the actors, movie concept and song out of context ads are daring to create a grey world of their own. I’ve not even begun to talk about the risks involved if the movie were to flop, right?

What do you think? Is it a good idea to have ads revolving around a movie concept timed with its release and leveraging on its promotional activities?

2 Responses to “Innovative Ad Formats, Irritating too!”


  1. 1 Anoop March 19, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    Promoting a movie even before it releases is good but it can have detrimental effects if the movie is a flop, we have to consider what if? the product is good and the ad revolves around a movie which would be a flop sometime sooner, Dont you think that this will affect the products market share?… If these ad’s are continued to be aired it definitely irritates viewers.. One such ad which really irritates me is Tata Docomo, i mean the ad is beyond my comprehension I can’t understand why the goons in the same train communicate to each other by singing, nevertheless its so irritating to stomach it I switch the channel for a minute when I see the ad 🙂

  2. 2 Girish April 2, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    I think linking ads to movies is just momentary. It is a publicity for both the product and the movie and they share the advertisement cost. If the movie is a hit, the product gains out of it and the ad remains in limelight a little longer. And if the movie is a failure on day one, the ad never sees light after that.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 28,021 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,281 other followers

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


