Come Festivities, Come Offers

Festivities – xmas, new year are all round the corner. All the malls and shops are decked up, waiting for the massive footfalls that would happen over the shopping season that will prevail over the next few weeks. Frankly, I love the buzz, it is a nice warm feeling…as if the world can go to naught but I will continue to shop till I drop!

Anyway, the point I was coming to was the “offers” being offered to lure customers to visit malls, stores and spend their money on certain items vs the others. While these work most of the times, I do wish that our retail grows beyond this cycle of limited quantity, cheap offers. What I would really like to see are a lot of variety and reasonable prices. When I compare any international retail store to the ones in India, these two things stand out as sore thumbs. In any category, there is always insufficient variety and the ones that are reasonably good quality are unreasonably priced. I wonder why my money or hardwork is worth less than the ones anywhere else in the world? Why should I get to choose from any less of a variety? Why should I pay for a “lesser experience”? Why should I waste my time browsing aisles that have “insufficient” depth on any given brand? And, most importantly, why should I pay more to get an item off this limited variety?

Our retail cycle will boom when it goes to the level of lot of variety (thereby adding depth in category as well as a given brand) and reasonable price, only to go down the next cycle of offers to get people to buy from those categories too..but I do want to be able to experience that boom part of the cycle to feel like a pampered customer come festivities and then….wait for the offers 🙂

What say guys? Innovation in retail…India is calling. Will Bharti + Walmart be the first answer?

4 Responses to “Come Festivities, Come Offers”


  1. 1 twitter marketing December 23, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    Yes its true that festival seasons have lots of offers for attracting customers, as every one know that the peoples around the globe shops particularly in festivals and every company wants more sales that’s why they offer great discounts or gift and other schemes.

    • 2 sree December 24, 2009 at 8:50 pm

      yes, I agree. What I was talking about is that “just” discounts without “depth” in a category amounts to nothing much of a choice for a customer.

  2. 3 celine January 1, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    love this blog. beautiful and creative style of writing.
    keep up the good work !!!


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 28,021 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,281 other followers

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


