Talking about sticky ads…

This is going to be a quick post about 2 ads that caught my attention. They are not very new but all the same stir the same “wow” feeling in my mind everytime I see them. These can be classified as those rare gems that convey the point, without overdoing it, everytime you see them and embody the essence of the brand extremely well. So here goes…

1. Reebok is running an ad for its easy tone range of sneakers across major cities in India with the tagline – “good for the feet, great for the sole”. It shows a lady’s shapely back with exercise shorts and shoes on her feet. I was caught off guard by the tagline. It was catchy! However, I forgot to click a picture of the ad and hence have been searching for the past few days online to get a picture of the same. Surprisingly, I came across a range of ads that they are running in other parts of the world that have much more sex quotient than the one I saw in India. And this rant came from as far and wide as China and the US. Check them out here and here.

2. Bharti AXA Health Insurance is running an ad with the tagline “why do most insurance companies make life so difficult?” and I agree 100%. Their ads claim that customers will never have to face issues related to cashless hospitalization not being approved in certain hospitals or do a produce a medical check up certificate prior to applying for a health insurance…however, it ends with the claim that you will never have to do a pre-emptive medical check up till age 55. Well, I would rather my health insurance company pay for a pre-emptive checkup every year than a one-time payment owing to sickness that could have been prevented, only if I had done regular checkups.

3. Fly Touch phones – This is a mobile phone company launched from Europe in 2003 and the ads I watched on national TV in India are as close to ridiculous as one can get. If you haven’t seen it or don’t believe me. Hear this out…a pilot is talking about the product sturdiness and a phone drops out of a flight, lands right into his hand and to top this all, there is a girl next to the pilot and he says, ‘it is as sturdy and reliable as you”…whoa!!! I must say, I had thought I had seen the lower limit of ridiculous ads in India, but this pushed the boundary further down…way down!

4. And…the zoos, zoos are back – lovely ads, as usual – though will not make me want to purchase the connection, I love seeing the ads. I especially love the new ad around roaming that Vodafone is running – “why be a tourist in your own country?” – pay 1p/s on roaming. Love this!!!

5. Karbonn Mobiles – I saved the best for the last. Now, this is a mobile company from India. UTL and Jaina group have co-launched this product and the first range of ads I saw was around dual-SIM. While the product is good, the ad was around managing a dual life (two wives…), the ad is funny, but goodness knows what point it was driving home and what segment it was catering to!

Anyhow…I wind down my list now and break the spell around no blog posts for the last 3 weeks with apologies. If anyone has purchased any of the products mentioned above please feel free to post your opinions, would love to hear from you.

4 Responses to “Talking about sticky ads…”


  1. 1 Anoop December 22, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    Im not a great fan of reebok, I’ve not seen the ad you’ve mentioned about in your blog, but honestly I’ve always wondered if reebok products were as good as their ads. I dont see them being in the same bracket as Nike or Adidas I dont believe that they have the capability to carve out a niche for themselves in sporting industry. I’ve tried out Nike, Adidas & now new balance shoes but my personal experiences with reebok products in the past always suggested that their products are expensive and performance below par, they did not even last for more than 3 months when I payed them $100+, to add to that I’ve had umpteen bad experiences with parting soles, footwear damages etc to name a few & this was not long ago.

    • 2 Sreeja Iyer December 23, 2009 at 12:02 am

      oh that i totally agree! Reebok is a poor cousin when it comes to the products. I’ve all these experiences when it comes to their products. But for some reason, the ad is great and so are the zoos zoos….wont make me change from Airtel to Vodafone!

  2. 3 Sanchayan January 23, 2010 at 5:06 am

    Hey did u see an ad by a cement company , i think it is JK cement. It is an amazing ad, and simply out the world, the best part is it is catchy gets noticed, re-usable and everything. The ad is pretty simple, it shows a lady in a swim suit coming out of ocean smiling. 5 seconds later they have banner saying “J K cements”..thats it

    • 4 Sreeja Iyer January 23, 2010 at 2:12 pm

      yeah, but what’s the context? If the ad is too frivolous thats exactly what the customers will remember the brand for. For example, when I have an overdose of celebrity endorsements I don’t remember what brand the particular celebrity was endorsing in the ad 5 mins ago vs. now…what a waste of money! The same thing applies to the “JK Cements” Ad (at least as you described it for me) I will remember the lady but not JK Cements, a few months later and probably neither when it comes to remembering brands.

      Sreeja


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 28,013 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,281 other followers


