The “Bose” Sound Experience

I made our first Bose speaker purchase today. I went to the store with my mind made up on the model I was going to purchase. However, the store is setup to sell an experience, so I could not resist the temptation to do some “experience” shopping. First off, I have to do a hat tip to the very professional and efficient approach to selling and customer service at the Bose Store in Forum, Koramangala as well as the one in MG Road. Now, I was fixated on one model and the sales person introduced me to the models one and two levels above the one I was looking at and then the whole loop started…let me go through it in steps…as they were wierd, unrelated threads, yet some good food for thought.

1. He showed me Companion 3 (C3) and Companion 5 (C5) and as his standard sales pitch started the demo on C5. The difference he told me was that it was surround sound whereas C3 was just stereo. Now, C5 and C3 demos are not created with the same material (songs, videos etc. are different in each marketing pitch). However, I can’t compare experiences if I don’t listen to the same sound playing through both the speaker series. So, the sales person brought out his iPod Touch (Aside: All sales people at Bose use iPod Touch, I believe Bose believes that the sound quality delivered through Bose Speakers is matched only by the rendering of iPod’s codecs ;)..not an entirely wrong belief, I must say) and had me listen to Hotel California on both C3 and C5. Well, except for some very minor “roundedness” effect of sound, I could not make out any difference worth paying Rs. 8,000 more for C5 vs C3! So, I decided to purchase the C3 and what is more, they are currently running an offer for an “in-ear” headset worth Rs. 4,000 worth along with C3, so I did get a steal of a deal, I must say!

2 Out of Stock – Now, all this while that he was upselling me to C3 and C5, he didn’t mention that they were out of stock in that showroom. He assumed I will be ok with a delayed delivery. I was not and did not like the fact that he hadn’t mentioned it earlier. However, they ensured that I got a box from the MG Road showroom and were courteous enough to have it delivered to my car (though I lost a precious 1hr driving back and forth). The MG Road sales person ensured that, though late he tested my system, showed me the wirings and only then packed the unit off with me. Thank you!

3. Wires, wires, everywhere – As he was unpacking the unit, I had a minor panic attack and now this might resonate only with a few of you. I’m allergic to more wires. As it is, with all the different kinds of chargers and connectors, we have too many wires lying around in the house. Trust me, trying to eliminate them just adds some more at some other point! Anyway, this package added a total of 5 more wires to my already “wired” world! Someone please find a solution to this wire-mess!!!

4. As I was waiting to be attended to, at the MG Road showroom (which by the way gets way more footfalls than the one at forum, I think this is a brilliant location for them), I watched as people came in and sorted through the options. Now, these are not low value products that people can make “seemingly” uneducated decisions on. So, they need to ask “intelligent” questions and get “seemingly” pertinent answers. However, no matter what the case, selling an experience is a challenge. Bose as a company does a lot of things right. Right from the store layout design to the music room and how they select and train their sales personnel. However, one thing that differentiates a good from a great sales person in an experiental selling is his passion for the subject – in this case “sound”. It becomes very clear as you handle various ranges of customers how you educate them on the nuances of the sound delivery and its interplay with technology.

5. This account won’t be complete without me telling the story of how we found a special place in our home for the C3 and how marvellous the first song experience was! Totally worth it.

I have to add that the one thought that repeatedly crossed my mind is the kind of slabs that the products were priced at and how heavy they felt on my pocket! Well, if they give you an “out of the world” experience, they bloody well know how to charge for it. What have your “Bose” sound experiences been like?

4 Responses to “The “Bose” Sound Experience”


  1. 1 Anoop December 11, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    Bose speakers are supposed to be very good!.. I never thought I should purchase them..But my cousin who has a lot of DNA towards electronics rates BOSE speakers very highly. With respect to your request with wires, I guess it not only irritates you but it irritates every one, especially people who like their homes clean, I always found the best solution for messy wires is to use those plastic tags and tie them up, its hard work to start with but a permanent solution, but its imperative to ensure that wires are long enough so that they dont irritate us again when we remove wires to clean. I guess these problems remain unless wireless electricity is invented.

  2. 3 Sanchayan January 23, 2010 at 5:00 am

    Alas, my bose headset is not working. Dont know where to get it fixed. But what an experience it is just favulous..btw you could have tried Jamo, and off course Bang& olafsen for speakers.
    Btw bose has $1000 headset, try that sometime, just too good.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 27,421 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,280 other followers


