Warning SMSes, anyone?

I was pulling out of my office building when I saw smoke from slightly beyond I could see. I was worried, but had no way to know what had happened without taking a heavy detour and risking getting into trouble in the process. That is when it struck me. How great it would be if we had a service that pings me (SMS/email/automated call – I can choose the mode) when there are incidents, in or around where I’m, that could affect me. Since, it is mobile based, it can identify where I’m and really make the service local as well as real-time. Now, the company offering the service can define what warrants a warning SMS (nice name, huh?).

One potential candidate who can offer this service could be – Insurance companies. Why? One, it aligns well with their business model – life/safety of people that they need to pay for and secondly, it will be highly valued by customers. Heck, they can even offer it for free/with a small yearly addition to the premium, just for the sake of differentiation!!! What say? I still remember the unfortunate bomb blast incidents in Bangalore more than a year ago. I was indoors and got to know what happened, what if I was outside? The only way I would know is if by chance someone I knew was watching TV or listening to the radio or browsing the internet at that time and what are the odds of that? Let us take opt-in marketing to a new level and create services that add meaning to the life of people, not just spam!

0 Responses to “Warning SMSes, anyone?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 28,021 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,281 other followers


