The Airtel Repartee to (Tata) Docomo

“Why squeeze all you want to talk in seconds, talk all you want without worrying about seconds” – screams the Airtel repartee to the Tata Docomo’s new second pulse rate (1paise per 1sec) plan. The airtel plan works out cheaper – is only 1paise per 4sec and well and  is one of the cheapest block offer I have seen from them. However, the ad doesn’t say anything about what plans will have this? Is it only for new customers? Will it be available for switching? When will the offer be available? etc etc. It seemed like, just what I said…a repartee…

Is Airtel scared of Docomo? With the 3G rollout looming large, I’m sure they want to retain their database now, that they can start milking them with higher end services. What do you think?

ERRATA and POST-THOUGHTS: I just heard their ad again – it says 50p/min and not 15p/min. I apologize for the confusion. In this case, it is still 10p cheaper than the overall Tata Docomo offer, but the block of 30sec vs. 1sec is still not something I can wrap my head around. I quite like the set of ads that Tata Docomo is coming out with and the taglines –  “one second can change your life”, “pay only for the seconds you talk” etc. But, the proof of the pie is in the eating (connectivity, in this case!) – I would wait and watch….

6 Responses to “The Airtel Repartee to (Tata) Docomo”


  1. 1 Anamika patil July 24, 2009 at 6:00 am

    would like clarification on this…been upset with airtel for a while now..so is this offer only for new users or the exisitng ones as well? very close to switching to tata docomo…their plans seem better by the looks of it…been quite impresed with their tv ad’s as well…nice animation..(check it out here: tatadocomo.com)

    • 2 Sreeja Iyer July 24, 2009 at 7:34 am

      Anamika,

      I have had very bad experience with Tata Indicom in the past, I don’t know if it will change just because of nice ads, immediately. However, Docomo has pumped in $2B in the network with Tata and has acquired a strategic stake in tata teleservices and seems to be that they want in for the longhaul and be here when 3G rolls out. Then, I would be interested, once they have set their network right and come up with interesting services. This 1 second billing plan is to just get the critical mass of customers on board so they can justify heavy rollouts and capex later….just my opinion. Btw, Vodafone and BSNL have their own share of network issues, so far I have seen Airtel work the best….

      Sree

  2. 3 anamika September 14, 2009 at 8:26 am

    hey thr..i gt a docomo…long back..n m vry much happy wit it.. yes it had bit netwrk issues..bt nw its wrkin gud.. the best part is the per secong billing.. its vry affordable.. wat i liked is the idea of per sec billing..vry happy wit thr service too..

    • 4 Sreeja Iyer September 14, 2009 at 8:33 am

      Anamika,

      Thanks for the update. I would also think that as the network and service matures, the service quality should come on par. But, I would still bet that as you go away from the cities, this difference would be more pronounced in network coverage. Lets hope for the benefit of entire India and mobile population specifically that this service does good and all the services start offering second billing rate to counter competition!

      Sreeja

  3. 5 anamika September 26, 2009 at 9:57 am

    hey thr..i guess the docomo has heard the customers scream abt the network issue n nw m getin a vry gud service..i hope everythin will b stable nw..got to knw news docomo is planning a contest to animate thr brand n the they are rewarding handsomely..m impressed wit thr friendly approach as no other operator has taken such a step n givin a chance to the customer..

  4. 6 ddos vps August 6, 2013 at 3:21 am

    Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, excellent blog!|


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 28,021 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,281 other followers

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


